

## IDAHO HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION

Serving Idaho's Youth Since 1926 Ty Jones, Executive Director Julie Hammons, Assistant Director Mike Federico, Assistant Director

8011 Ustick Road Boise, ID 83704

Phone #: (208) 375-7027 Fax #: (208) 322-5505

website: idhsaa.org e-mail: admin@idhsaa.org

## 2022-23 Schools of Excellence

The Idaho High School Activities Association is pleased to announce the 2022-2023 winners of the "Schools of Excellence" program. This yearlong, voluntary program in which schools earn points based on their student-athletes' performance in athletics, academics and sportsmanship is the top award for the IHSAA and its member schools. The top three schools in each classification with the best overall programs will be recognized at the IHSAA Annual Meeting, August 2<sup>nd</sup>.

5 <b>A</b>	Eagle High School  2 <sup>nd</sup> place – Timberline High School	Susan McInerny, Principal; Beth Holt, AD  3 <sup>rd</sup> place – Boise High School
4 <b>A</b>	<b>Bishop Kelly High School</b> 2 <sup>nd</sup> place – Twin Falls High School	Mike Caldwell, Principal; Tom Shanahan, AD  3 <sup>rd</sup> place – Century High School
3A	Kimberly High School  2 <sup>nd</sup> place – Sugar-Salem High School	<b>Darin Gonzales, Principal; Zach Dong, AD</b> 3 <sup>rd</sup> place – Snake River High School
2A	Cole Valley Christian High School  2 <sup>nd</sup> place – Ririe High School	Kim DeMain, Principal; Connor Jackson, AD  3 <sup>rd</sup> place – Bear Lake High School
1A Div I	<b>Grace High School</b> 2 <sup>nd</sup> place – Oakley High School	Brandon Jackson, Principal; Travis Draper, AD  3 <sup>rd</sup> place – Genesee High School
1A Div II	Rockland High School  2 <sup>nd</sup> place – Dietrich High School	<b>Greg Larson, Principal; Andrew Nelson, AD</b> 3 <sup>rd</sup> place – Nezperce High School

The three major areas of high school activities are weighted equally in determining recipients of the award.

- The <u>Academic Component</u> is based on the varsity team's cumulative GPA as submitted on the State Academic Champions application for all IHSAA sponsored sports/activity programs.
- The <u>Performance Component</u> is based on place of finish at IHSAA-sponsored state championships and activity program competitions.
- The <u>Citizenship Component</u> is based on a school's self-evaluation of their citizenship/sportsmanship activities as submitted on an itemized form. Deductions are made by the IHSAA for player and/or coach unsportsmanlike ejections and also for unsportsmanlike school behavior at state tournaments.

In addition to the primary awards, schools that score 90% on the Citizenship Component and have no player/coach ejections throughout the year or incidents of unsportsmanlike school behavior at state tournaments will receive an "Award of Excellence" certificate. The 2022-2023 Award of Excellence schools are Timberline, Boise, Highland, Owyhee, Bishop Kelly, Canyon Ridge, Bonneville, Burley, Weiser, Ririe, Bear Lake, Genesee, Prairie and Glenns Ferry.